Well here it is, the end of another quarter.  Working in a sales environment, end of month, quarter and year are always crazy busy and stressful.  It’s all about the money.  In my role as Sales Operations Manager I’m pulled in many different directions and this quarter was no different.  Morphing from first quarter to second quarter is most significant.  It’s winter into spring and days are longer.  The dry, old air is replaced with fresh air and we lose the winter coats, hats, gloves and scarfs.  People seem happier and nature comes back to life.  Second quarter is full of weddings, graduations, grills and repairs.  Alas, better hair and skin days as well.

Because my career is focussed around calendar quarters, I tend to plan my life around calendar quarters as well.  Before I schedule any time off, I’m always looking to see where the month or quarter ends on the calendar, and I plan accordingly.  I don’t agree, or even like, that it should be that way, but if I want continued success and monetary freedom, I choose to oblige.  The irony is when I finally decide to work for myself, my days will be non-stop, round the clock every day… but I’ll be my own boss doing something I love… cooking!  I have lots of steady customers now and plenty of people inquiring.  I think about it a lot.  Getting ready for the big leap of faith is no small task.

Then there’s Lizzie.  She continues to be challenging to say the least.  This dog has a mind of her own, probably from roaming around in the woods and fending for herself for so long.  I change my strategy every time there is a mishap with her.  One thing is for sure, I love the dog and won’t give up on her.   It seems the black crows in the yard taunt her because they know she can’t get off the leash.  God help them if she ever breaks free… they’re first on her list; I can see it in her eyes.

Here’s hoping your Winter shrug is replaced with pleasant Spring things.  Second quarter, come on in!

 Stick Figure Baker

