As you are likely aware, the world was purportedly rumored to cease to exist today, December 21st.

Last night I wondered what I should do just in case it really was the last day on earth for everyone.  I told my mom and my son I loved them and had quite the conversation with my dog who just kept looking at me with the ‘I’m sure there’s a treat at the end of her babbling’ look on her face.  I even sought out my cat for a hug and told him I wasn’t upset that he keeps yakking on the rug.  (Of course now that the world didn’t end, I’ll have to revisit that with him.)

I decided to make a penguin party centerpiece, bonfire included, and bring it to work today (just in case the world didn’t end).  I thought it would take my mind off the pending doom and fulfill my holiday office obligation at the same time.

I woke up this morning and thought that’s a good way to start the day.  The world didn’t end and I’m alive.  So, I got ready for work, walked the dog and business as usual.

Work will be full of holiday cheer today, as well as last minute, end of year work things.  I’m on vacation through the holidays so the madness escalates to new heights beginning tonight.  I haven’t bought a single gift.  All I’ve done is cook, clean, pack and bake. 

I’ve got my work cut out for me in the next week, but I’m up for it.

Merry Christmas !

Penquin

