As the first week of December comes to close, I find myself desperately trying to get in the spirit of Christmas.  Everywhere I look I see pretty lit trees, presents, decorations, specials and holiday preparations.  I hear Christmas music, bell ringers and the sweet sounds of Christmas.  Then I go home…

My house has been turned upside down by a pint-size elf.  Mom is moving out of my house in a few short weeks and despite the conversations of order and organization concerning the move, she has taken it upon herself to rip through everything, take what she wants (whether it’s hers or not) and leave a trail of disaster behind that only a gymnast could maneuver getting from one side of the house to the other.  Half packed boxes everywhere, stuff on every countertop, shelf, floor and furniture.  Every night, after mom has retired for the evening, I try to take some of the random stuff lying around and fill the gaps in the open boxes, close them up and move them into an out-of-the-way corner.  It gives me a short-lived sense of order for I know once the sun comes up, the pint-size elf will be back at it once again.  I’ve asked her not to pack the kitchen until we can go over everything together (I foresee this as our biggest obstacle). I also suggested waiting until after Christmas since we are planning on having family over for Christmas dinner and will probably need her pots and pans.  She agreed, but couldn’t resist the temptation.  Yesterday I came home to find every cabinet in the kitchen had been ransacked in total chaos.  Silly me.  Earlier this week, in an effort to decompress and regain some sanity, I put up our Christmas tree and decorated it.  Of course I had to spend quite a bit of time clearing a path to actually get to the designated tree spot, which was strewn with open boxes, bags and random loose items.  But, I did it and enjoyed pulling out ornaments that triggered wonderful memories.  For an hour I was lost in thought as I picked up each ornament that brought a smile to my face.  As always, hanging under the angel at the top of the tree, is the DAD ornament I bought the year my father passed away.  Christmas or not, I still think about him all the time.  He must be looking down, shaking his head and laughing his ass off at the calamity sequence of events going on under my roof.  I can just picture him busting a gut up there.

So, while the rest of the world is gearing up and celebrating the Christmas season, at my house we are just trying to get through the Christmess season.  I see big changes in 2013, for everyone.  Mom is finally getting her wish to move back to her beloved city and state.  I just hope she’s happy with her decision.  Family in that town will be called upon daily (I’m sure) to fix this or pick up that, etc.  Yeah, I’m going to have a lot of spare time to finally concentrate on me…  that is after I clean up the wake of disaster she’ll undoubtedly leave behind.

Merry Christmas !

