It’s been about a week since I posted last.  I have received all of your emails asking where I’ve been.  I appreciate your support!  I’ve been busy addressing big changes going on in my life.  Will blog about them when they are finalized.  Blah, blah, blah, let’s get on to the good stuff…

I have been cooking up a storm lately!  There’s so many great recipes and blogs out there, I’ve been busy trying them all out.  I’m narrowing down all my favs for the holidays.  I always try a new recipe as a base, then I put my own twist on it when I make it.  Lately, I’ve been on the Eggplant Train.  Eggplant is a-plenty, every where I look there’s eggplant so this is a perfect time to be cooking and experimenting with it.  I love all the different recipes out there too.    A close friend of mine blogged her Gramma’s eggplant recipe and I was surprised to see she salts the eggplant first.  I asked her why and she said it takes the bitterness out of the eggplant.  I never knew that!  I asked my mom if she ever heard of that and she said yes, it’s an old-fashioned italian custom.  I asked her why she’s never done it, or even mentioned it, and she said “I don’t buy bitter eggplant”… HA!  Of course not.  

Mom is the little Italian lady who hides a knife in her purse to cut open the eggplants in the store to be sure they’re ripe before she buys them… then doesn’t buy the ones she’s cut open, because they’re cut.  WHAT???  Yep, when the store manager got involved (customers and workers reported her as she sliced away in the produce department) she was adamant that the eggplants looked rotten and wanted to be sure before she bought them.  She defiantly scolded him by saying she was forced to bring a knife because twice she’s bought eggplants only to discover they were rotten when she got home.  When he explained calmly, (I’m sure he was petrified of her 4’2″ 105 pound frame) that they had to throw out the eggplants she cuts, she offered a solution that suited him just fine.  They agreed she would be allowed to cut open one eggplant (of her choice) and if it wasn’t rotten the manager would give it to her to take home and make eggplant parmesan for him! She would in turn purchase an eggplant for her own use, but bring him the parm next trip to the store.  Mom, being mom, feels victorious with this arrangement and parades proudly to the produce department, knife in hand and cuts away.  I witnessed this event once while hiding behind the bananas.  The produce manager greeted her with a hug while he gently worked the knife out of her hand and proceeded to cut the qualified eggplant in half for her, making it go as unnoticed as possible.  I just chuckled to myself.  My mom is so much like her dad it’s unreal.  Of course mom’s end of the deal is to return the cut eggplant in parm fashion, but she takes it a step further and along with the parm she makes italian cookies, lots and lots of italian cookies for the entire produce department.  Who funds all of this you ask?  Who else, I do.  Yep, everyone within a square mile of us is rocking some form of eggplant at this time, especially me! 

Hey, check out this sister blog and her latest eggplant post.  It’s fabulous, I’m sure.

sheilahskitchen.blogspot.com

Until next time…

