Passwords drive me crazy.  They say for security reasons, I can’t use the same password for everything (or else I would!) and they all expire at different times.  What the heck?  I can’t even turn on the TV or the stereo without using two remotes at the same time.  Some require numbers and letters, some require upper and lower case, and some require a mixture of both.  I’m forced to write them down, then hide them, never to find them again; or if I do, they’ve either expired or I’ve scribbled them unrecognizable.  I now keep my passwords random, with no sense to them at all.  But back in the day my passwords were made up of something, or someone relevant in my life at the time. They were simple and had meaning.  Of course back in the day I only needed one or two passwords to get through the daily grind.  These days, I must have 25 passwords that I use in a day.  I don’t want any passwords.  I just want ON, OFF, CHANNEL, VOLUME and ENTER.  I want to turn on my computer and just get where I’m going without Cyber Security at the gate asking for my password.  I constantly growl at my computer, I swear it growls back.  Geez…

 Yesterday I was taken back to a time and place by a simple password.  For reasons that don’t matter, I had to access an old account for information I was sure was stored in there.  I hadn’t been in that account for many, many months.  While logging in, I couldn’t remember my password to save my life.  Where did I hide that password again?  No idea.  I searched high and low and amazingly, I found it scribbled on a piece of torn paper.  The password was code for an old friend.  Before I logged in, I took a few minutes to remember back when my friend and I shared a lot of laughs, a lot of fun and even got into our fair share of trouble, which is hysterical even as I think of it today.   It seems like a lifetime ago, but it really wasn’t.  It was a simpler time.  Life wasn’t so crammed with schedules and stuff and not enough hours in the day.  We kept our priorities in check while we juggled our responsibilities.  Times were different back then.  Yeah, those were the good ole days.  I think about my friend from time to time.   The memories still bring a smile to my face and tugs at my heart.  It’s been about 24 hours since the password jog down memory lane and I haven’t stopped thinking about my old friend since.  How did so many things change in such a short period of time?  I think I’ll leave this password as is.  I love the peaceful, happy feeling it gives me.

You never know how much is too much until you’ve gone too far.

Until we meet again my friend…