After spending the entire afternoon with the Podiatrist yesterday for a bone spur, he tells me the pain I’m experiencing isn’t from the bone spur at all.  In fact, it’s from a stretched, almost torn, ligament, probably from hiking every weekend with the dog.  He pulled out an ultrasound machine and performed picture magic in front of my eyes.  He babbled on and on with medical terms and looked up to ask me if “I follow”.  I had to be honest and said he lost me after “Does this hurt?”

He fitted my high arch for a custom brace pad thingy that I’m to wear all day and night except to bed and prescribed Prednisone.  I’ve never taken the drug, but I’ve never heard good things about it.  I asked the Doctor what the side effects were.  After giving me the pros and cons, he was basically saying either live with the pain and don’t take the drug, or take the drug and be pain-free.  Thanks, Doc.

I’m such a baby with drugs and side effects.  I can hardly take an aspirin without getting nausea so I reached out to a few friends and family.  It was interesting to see how strongly people either objected or promoted the drug.  Next, I decided to research it on-line.  It only took me a split second to make up my mind after reading this one tiny paragraph from Drugs.com:

“Prednisone – All medicines may cause side effects, but many people have no, or minor side effects.  Check with your doctor if any of these most COMMON side effects persist or become bothersome when using Prednisone:  Difficulty sleeping; feeling of whirling motion; increased appetite; increased sweating; indigestion; mood changes; nervousness.”

I sleep like a rock now, don’t need an increased appetite (are you kidding me?) or increased sweating (geez). As for indigestion, whirling motion and nervousness… don’t need any more of that crap than I already have.  It was the mood changes that sealed the deal.  My gawd, there are times I fly off the handle from zero to 60 in less than a split second.  Mood changes, that can’t be good.

So, I will ice the heel, wear the brace and not take the steroid to remain the happy, peaceful, pleasant, perfect flower that I am… ha ha (I see you rolling your eyes!)

