What are the odds, at 25,  you’ll go to sleep and never wake up?  What are the odds your dog will be diagnosed with bone cancer?  What are the odds you get the news on the same day?  A bazillion to one, I think… but here it is.

Yesterday, my brother shared sad news that his dog Flash has bone cancer with 1 – 2 months to live.  I could feel the sadness hanging in his heart and his animal-loving home.  This won’t be easy for any of them, and no matter what they choose to do, the outcome will be the same.  It’s such a painful decision.  I wished I could help as I thought about the outcome.   The memory of putting a beloved dog down is still very fresh in my mind. 

Ten minutes later…..

I learned a co-worker’s 25-year-old daughter went to sleep and never woke up.  I was (am) shocked and saddened with the news.  I knew this girl.  I worked for her mom for years and still work with her now.  Her only child was a 3rd year law school student with a bright future.  So many questions, so little answers.

You just never know when your time is up…

 

