It just goes to show that things can change when you least expect it…

Besides the fact the boats weren’t in the water yet, the weekend was stellar, nonetheless.  I started digging a new fire pit, which I think will be awesome when finished.  A great dinner party was held with lots of food, friends and laughs.  My guard was up before I went to the party.  I’d been warned in advance that a woman I can’t stand would be there, but I certainly wouldn’t not go anywhere because of her.  I’d just keep plenty of space between us, which was the plan.  I arrived first and her a little bit later.  I didn’t get up when she came in behind me, but I was prepared to extend pleasantries when I had to.  She came over and gave me a hello hug and I responded.  Usually confrontational and adamant, this particular night she was neither.  In fact, to my amazement, she was downright pleasant and easy to be around.  Clearly she has been replaced with a pleasant Pod Person look-alike.  As the night wore on, we even shared a laugh or two.  Don’t get me wrong, she was pleasant to me, but she was nipping at someone else.  I chuckled to myself as she was sinking quickly by being put in her place by the person she was nipping at.  Everyone knows she makes stuff up and this night was no different.  She’s not a smart girl, nor does she have any social etiquette at all, however she stood her ground trying to defend something we all knew she had made up.  That’s when it occurred to me that she was on good behavior towards me, but she couldn’t resist chewing on someone else.  She picked the wrong person to chew on as she was sliced up and served on a platter in a matter of just a few seconds.  I turned my head to chuckle because I didn’t want to stir the pot.  She was going down, and rightfully so.  I also know how she operates and didn’t want her to turn to me to start a new conversation to get out of being cornered with her made up story.  Hell no, I wasn’t going on her side.  I wasn’t leaving the side of the Queen who had the honor of slicing.  HA!

Sometimes you’re the pea, sometimes you’re the dish…

