As the excitement continues to build, I feel the ripple of emotions going through me.  It’s exciting and scary.  It’s anxious and appealing.  I’ve been talking about my own business for quite a while now.  Yesterday I got a business license.  This is my retirement plan… working for myself at something I love to do.  I realize it’ll take a while to get up and running, even make money, but I’ve been in the planning stages for so long, I’ve finally taken the first step from planning to doing.  I’ve been jacked about it all day.  Yeah, it’s time to make serious changes in my life.

Last week, my son and I were having dinner.  He made a comment that stayed with me long after dinner was over.  He said “I don’t want to be one of those people who talks about starting their own business and thirty years later still hasn’t done anything about it.”  He could have easily been talking about me.  The raw truth of his statement hit me in the face like a 2 x 4.  I knew it was time to get my plan off the ground.

Step one is usually the hardest part.  I called my friend in CA who’s been nudging me, no pushing me, to get going for a year now.  She about fell off her chair that I actually did it.  They’ll be growing pains, the operative word being ‘growing’, but if I want to really retire and have a small income to sustain, I need to make this work.  I will make this work. 

Now that I’ve started, I want to jump right in.  I’m working on my website, business cards, etc.  I will make this happen, and this will make me happen.  It’s as good as time as any, and the first door has been opened.  Come on in, I’m almost open for business.

I’m making changes, just you wait and see…….

 

