Slept like a baby last night; woke up early feeling relatively refreshed, considering the nagging pain on the bottom of my left heel.  Pushing through the morning walk with Lizzie, I tried not to notice the slow drizzle that was undoubtedly frizzing my hair in record time.  I walked as if it were summer and recounted two conversations held last night.

I could picture his perfectly chiseled face all scrunched up in question, flailing hands in the air, as he emphasized that they just don’t understand what I’m talking about.  I was touched that they cared enough to call and ask, instead of just assuming.  True friends can easily be found extending a gentle hand to pull you out of the fish bowl you’ve been swimming around and around in, getting nowhere fast.  I envisioned them staring at the speaker phone, barely breathing in an effort to hear every word.  In return for the reach, I gave them what they asked for.

Next call was heartfelt and informative.  I could see his deep blue eyes and furrowed brow agonizing over the past two day’s events.  He swayed from confused to adamant.  There’s no right or wrong, but there is awareness.  Sometimes the paths we take harmoniously align in parallel, sometimes they don’t.  When balance is interrupted, and you are stripped of the comfort and security that you’ve come to rely and depend on, you have no choice but to look within and begin the rebuilding process.  At the end of the day, we answer to ourselves.

Balance has been restored, let the rebuilding begin.

 

