If you know me at all, you know I am not a meat-eater.  I just don’t like it. Period.  My son is a meat-eater.  In fact, I am the only vegetarian of all my friends and family.  However, because I love to entertain, and I’m surrounded by meat-eaters, I still cook with meat.  That said, I decided to research Pink Slime since the media frenzy hit last week.  This is what I’ve come up with.

Pink Slime a/k/a Lean Finely Textured Beef, once solely used for dog food and cooking oil, is made by gathering waste trimmings, such as beef scraps and cow connective tissues, simmering it on a low heat so that the fat separates easily from the muscle, followed up by spinning using centrifuge, which completes the separation.  Because beef trim is infamous for carrying pathogenic bacteria (E. coli O157:H7 and the non O157 STEC bacteria) the mixture is then sent through pipes where it is sprayed with ammonia gas to kill bacteria.  It is then frozen and shipped to grocery stores and meat packers at which point it is added to most ground beef.

This week, former USDA scientist Gerald Zirnstein, told ABC News that 70 percent of the ground beef we buy at the market contains Pink Slime. ( 70 percent people!) Further, he reported that Pink Slime does not appear on the label because USDA officials, with links to the beef industry, are the folks who label the meat.  There is no mention of ammonia, connective tissues or scraps because paid corporate lobbyists have done a bang-up job of convincing government officials that we don’t need to know.  If we knew, we’d probably make better choices.  Maybe.  Shouldn’t we have the right to decide what we put in our bodies?  Ammonia was not meant to be ingested by the human body.

“The only way to ensure that the ground beef you’re buying is 100 percent, is to make sure it has the USDA Organic seal on it.” – ABC News

In case you need a visual of Pink Slime, this is what it looks like when it arrives at the grocery stores, before it is incorporated into processed meat like hamburger.   Shameful…

It looks like something that should be living in a cave near the ocean or something.  Are you eating that?

 

From now on, I will not be serving anything that has Pink Slime in it. Ever. Period.

