Back in April of 2011, I hired a local contractor to build a simple 12 x 12 pressure treated deck off the back of my lake house.  After a myriad of unacceptable mishaps, I fired him and demanded my deposit back.  He in turn stole (yes stole), the deck off of the house without returning my deposit.  The police were instrumental in assisting me with the return of my deposit (or partial deposit as he chose to pay), with pictures, documentation, and police reports, which I ultimately used against him in a court of law in December.  I also have to give kudos to the Building Inspector and a neighbor/friend.  Their testimonies in court sealed his fate.  Yesterday the court rulings were in the mail when I got home.  Not only did I win the case hands down, the court appointed all that I asked for, plus court fees… and interest! 

The truth always wins!

Whether it be stealing a deck off of someone’s house or applying a fraudulent inspection sticker on your car, you may get away with it for a while, but in the end, you will not win.  If you can look at yourself in the mirror without remorse, ask yourself if it is worth it; for in the end you will have to live with your decision, and possibly nothing else.

