Friday night I went to bed early with the intent of getting a good night’s sleep before day one of my fast. I tossed and turned all night with worry about the fast. I don’t know why, but I was afraid of failing. Saturday morning I woke up with a headache, not bad, but noticeable. After morning pet chores, I juiced up my first “mean green” vege/fruit juice. I have to say the first sip was hard to get down.   You’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto.  I took a huge sip thinking this would be easy.  HA!  I thought I was going to die! The recipe made 2.5 glasses and I was discouraged after the first sip. But, true to my word, I managed to get it all down. I cleaned up all the juicer parts and noticed my headache getting worse (like they said it would). It was forecasted to be a gorgeous day so I waited a while (the bathroom was already calling me) and decided I would take the dog for a hike. When I felt like I could actually leave the house without having to use the bathroom, I loaded up the dog and we left. It was unseasonably warm and the fresh air felt good on my banging headache. Lizzie and I met a nice man and his dog and we all hiked together for a while. I had to go potty so bad that after a while I just excused myself and ducked behind a tree. I was hoping he’d just keep on hiking, but he waited for me… how embarrassing.  As the day got warmer, my headache got worse. I had a hard time driving home from the mountain. My intention was to come home, rest a bit, make another drink and sit on the deck and nurse my headache. I came home and my son was on a cleaning rampage saying today was the day he was going to clean out his closets, drawers, etc. and he wanted me to do the same since he was going to make a dump/goodwill run.  Really?  Today you want to do that? Gawd. I muddled through my closet and drawers and sonny boy decided he wanted to attack the hallway that’s been housing his college apartment leftovers for almost two years now. My head was banging bad now and I opted out to juice up round two of my vege/fruit drink. I didn’t know which was worse.  While I sat on the couch, I decided that childbirth was easier than this fast and divorce was less painful.  Again, I got all of it down but this time I started gagging. I was on the verge of throwing up, but didn’t. I sat on the couch just trying to lift my head. My son loaded up the truck with “stuff” and I said I’d go with him to the dump thinking the fresh air would do me good.  Bad move.  I just about heaved on the way there and was almost in tears on the way back. My headache was so bad, I couldn’t open my eyes. I decided I would take a couple of aspirin or something when I got home. I know you’re not supposed to take anything, but I had to. The aspirin only took the edge off, but didn’t take the headache away. I caved and ate half a banana… and regretted it. My stomach was in knots, my head was too heavy to hold up and my spirits were shot down. I cried because I felt like I failed and gave up. Yes, I am weak and shameful. I have $36 worth of washed vege’s in a cooler sitting in my kitchen. I barely ate anything yesterday, but didn’t even attempt to juice again. What a loser…   I will try again…

