Over the weekend a friend of mine asked if I would help her clean out a barn loft recently acquired by her and her husband.  Of course I said yes!  I could only image the potential “stuff” we’d find up there and the fun we’d have just uncovering the unknown.  I couldn’t wait to get up there.

The barn was huge, the loft just as big.  How did the old farmers get up and down those short, steep staircases?  Greeted by piles of bat doo, mice droppings, dust, boxes, bags and furniture, we just looked around in awe, not knowing where to start.  I’m thinking this loft was where they kept the hay for the horses stalled below.  It only had a short loft door at the front, where old western movie memories tell me they used to shuck the hay up there (shuck?).  We open the short loft door and are instantly assaulted by the sun pushing its way in, only to expose all the dust we were surely ingesting.   The post and beam log ceiling held together by pegs were screaming strength and structure built to last.  As I studied it for several minutes, it took my breath away .  With so much character I was taken back to a time I’ve only read about and seen in movies.  It was surreal.  I suddenly wanted to put on a cowgirl hat and boots, maybe even a holster with a gun.  Screw the petticoats, I wanted to be that girl.  Yeah, this loft was full of memories and secrets stored away from yester-year.  I wanted to know them all.

On to the stuff!  To our surprise, every single box was unopened!  Yep, clearly a shopaholic / hoarder was ordering things and just storing them in the loft, without even opening the boxes as they arrived in the mail.  When we first realized what we stumbled upon, we couldn’t believe it; then we dove in opening box after box as fast as we could.  It was like Christmas, the box contents were so random we had no idea what we would see.  After a while we started to see a pattern of brass pineapple lamps.  All sizes and shapes, she was clearly into the “welcome” lamps.  Not being a brass pineapple lamp fan, I didn’t take any.  We did however, find all kinds of primitive things, fabric (ohhh the fabric!), vintage clothing, prints, frames, books, furniture, hook rug thingy, braided rug wool strips, wooden carvings, old-fashioned baby leather shoes, baking tins, etc.  I could go on and on about all the cool things, but what started out as a journey for the stuff, turned into a memorable, exciting day of history.  I was, at the very least, honored to be asked in the first place, and then grateful for the experience.  It was wonderful, different, and so unexpected!  I was able to get lost in time and just wonder what it must have been like in this loft with all this random stuff.  We had a blast trying to figure what she did for a living, or why she never opened anything.  We came  up with different scenarios and stories, but we really have no idea.  Every box had a note “thank you for your purchase”.  We had several ideas and walked away with several pieces of history. I loved everything, but even without the stuff, I loved the day.  I’ll never forget the day in the loft when I look at my treasures of the past.  It was a perfect day!  Thank you!

