October 6, 2011

I must have been the last person on the planet to hear of Steve Jobs’ passing yesterday.  Just as I was turning in for bed last night, I heard a quick blurb on TV about it.  This morning it was all over the news.  I was surprised at how the news affected me.  I’ve never met the man, but have always admired him.  Every picture I’ve ever seen of him, no matter whom his audience was, he was in jeans, a casual shirt and in control.  He was confident, but not cocky.  He was informative, but not pompous.  He was interesting, brilliant and strong.  All the things I strive to be.

This morning, like every other morning, the TV blared out the news in the background of my kitchen while I prepared meals for the day ahead.  I stopped and watched Steve Jobs deliver his 2005 commencement speech at Stanford University.  I hung on to every word.  It was like he was talking to me.  And then, his words rang out loud and clear “DON’T LIVE SOMEONE ELSE’S DREAM”… Wow!  As his words resonated in my head, everything was put in perspective.  I’ve been wanting to start my own business for years.  I’ve had one excuse after another.  Now, I’m out of excuses.   I’ve even had this blog set up for months now, without any entries.  The time is now.

Today, in honor of Steve Jobs and how he has inspired me to move forward, I start this blog, and start the rest of my life.  Steve Jobs’ death is the birth of Phase Two of my life.

Welcome to The Italian Dish!  Here I will be dishing out all kinds of things from recipes, to rants and raves to opinions.  My life pulls me in so many directions, but the one constant in my life, besides my son, is my desire to cook, entertain and work for MYSELF!   I encourage you to share stories, recipes, ideas and opinions.  If you can’t take it, don’t dish it out…

