There are days I measure myself on how I treat others.  There are days I measure myself on how others treat me.  I believe you get what you give.

Yesterday, as I leaving work, I was approached by a woman I’ve known (at work) for years.  Although we’ve not exchanged much more than pleasantries, I always thought of her as a happy feel good kind of person.  Always pleasant and cheery, she was always the one that would ask how you were with a big smile and nod.  We ended up leaving the building at the same time and walking out to the parking lot talking about the nice weather.  Out of nowhere she blurted out the most personal question.  I was surprised and shocked and just stood there looking dumbfounded.  She was waiting intently on an answer.  In an instant, so many things went through my head.  I wasn’t sure how to answer her question, or if I even wanted to.  After a few minutes I decided to answer honestly.  My answer brought us both to tears.  This casual work acquaintence tapped into the very core of my soul where so few people are allowed in.  I don’t think she had any idea she had pierced the onion.  I haven’t stopped thinking about it since.   Last night, on the treadmill I wondered if she may have been a vessell from a higher power trying to get my attention.  It sounds corny, but sometimes if I’m not paying attention, intentionally or otherwise, I believe the universe sends out messages to get my attention to realign me.  I’ve noticed, I tend to derail…

Be careful what you ask for, you might not be able to handle the truth.

